Daily Email Newsletter (Sign-up Free)

Section 7, Consumer Protection Act 1986: State Consumer Protection Councils

Section 7 (The State Consumer Protection Councils) under Chapter II (Consumer Protection Councils) of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986, is reproduced hereunder:—

(1) The State Government shall, by notification, establish with effect from such date as it may specify in such notification, a Council to be known as the Consumer Protection Council for .......................(hereinafter referred to as the State Council).

(2) The State Council shall consist of the following members, namely:—

  (a) the Minister incharge of consumer affairs in the State Government who shall be its Chairman;

  (b) such number of other official or non-official members representing such interests as may be prescribed by the State Governments;

  (c) such number of other official or non-official members, not exceeding ten, as may be nominated by the Central Government.

(3) The State Council shall meet as and when necessary but not less than two meetings shall be held every year.

(4) The State Council shall meet at such time and place as the Chairman may think fit and shall observe such procedure in regard to the transaction of its business as may be prescribed by the State Government.

Extra Notes for Readers

(1) In sub-section (1), the words “The State Government shall” were substituted for “The State Government may” by Act 62 of 2002, s. 4, (w.e.f. 15-Mar-2003).

(2) Sub-section (2) was substituted along with insertion of two new sub-sections (3) & (4) by Act 50 of 1993, s. 6, (w.e.f. 18-Jun-1993).

(3) In sub-section (2), clause (c) was inserted by Act 62 of 2002, s. 4 (w.e.f. 15-Mar-2003).

This page was last updated on 31st December, 2017.

No comments:

Post a Comment

In comment with "Name/Url" option, only Name is mandatory to be filled.