Daily Email Newsletter (Sign-up Free)

Section 1, Minimum Wages Act, 1948: Short Title And Extent

Section 1 (Short title and extent) of the Minimum Wages Act, 1948, reads as follows:—

“(1) This Act may be called the Minimum Wages Act, 1948.

(2) It extends to the whole of India.”

Extra Notes for Readers

(1) The Minimum Wages Act, 1948 (Act No. 11 of 1948) is 'An Act to provide for fixing minimum rates of wages in certain employments'.

(2) This Act has been extended to Dadra and Nagar Haveli by Reg. 6 of 1963, s. 2 and the First Schedule; Pondicherry by Reg. 7 of 1973, s. 3 and First Schedule; Lakshadweep by Reg. 8 of 1965, s. 3 and the Schedule; and Union territory of Goa, Daman and Diu by Notification No. G.S.R. 436, dated 16-4-1873, Gazette of India, Part II, sec. 3(i).

This Act has been amended in Uttar Pradesh by U.P. Act 20 of 1960 (w.e.f. 1-1-1960), Bihar by Bihar Act 3 of 1961, Maharashtra by Maharashtra Act 10 of 1961, Andhra Pradesh by Andhra Pradesh Act 19 of 1961, Gujarat by Gujarat Act 22 of 1961, Madhya Pradesh by Madhya Pradesh Act 11 of 1959, Kerala by Kerala Act 18 of 1960, Rajasthan by Rajasthan Act 4 of 1969, Madhya Pradesh by Madhya Pradesh Act 36 of 1976 and Maharashtra by Maharashtra Act 25 of 1976.

(3) In sub-section (2) of Section 1, after the words “the whole of India” - the words “except the State of Jammu and Kashmir” omitted by Act 51 of 1970, s. 2 and the Schedule (w.e.f. 1-Sep-1971).

The page was last updated on 31st December, 2017.

No comments:

Post a Comment

In comment with "Name/Url" option, only Name is mandatory to be filled.